Serving all of Tarrant County, Texas
Criminal mischief in Texas is when an individual intentionally damages or destroys property and causes a loss of convenience to the property owner. The identifying factor of criminal mischief is that the damage is caused to the property and not to a possession. The damage could be caused by various factors, including arson.
Individuals can be charged with a class C misdemeanor criminal mischief charge when caught participating in criminal mischief such as graffiti, breaking windows, or tampering with gates and fences without the owner’s consent. If the total financial loss amounts to $50 or less or if others have been considerably inconvenienced, penalties can include up to 180 days in jail and a $200 fine.
Punishable by up to 180 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000, individuals can be charged with a class B misdemeanor criminal mischief charge if the damage done amounts to more than $50, but less than $500. Criminal mischief charges of any kind rely heavily on physical evidence and witness statements.
Defendants can be charged with a class A criminal mischief charge if the damage caused is valued at over $500 and less than $1,500. Individuals can be subject to the same charge if their criminal mischief caused public inconvenience, such as: the impairment or interruption of public communications, public transportation, public water supply, gas, power, or any other public service. This is punishable by up to one year in jail, and defendants can face fines up to $4,000.
A state jail felony is punishable by up to two years in a state jail, and fines of up to $10,000. Individuals can face these charges when the damage they’ve caused is valued between $1,500 and $20,000.
Defendants can face a third-degree felony charge for criminal mischief if the damaged caused is valued between $20,000 and $100,000. Punishment can include two to 10 years in prison, and a $10,000 fine.
Second-degree felonies are applicable in cases where damage amounts to $100,000 to $200,000. Penalties include two to 20 years in prison, and fines of up to $10,000.
Defendants may face first-degree criminal mischief charges if the value of damaged caused is valued at over $200,000. If found guilty, this charge can carry up to 99 years in prison and fines reaching as much as $10,000.
If you or someone you know has been convicted of a criminal mischief charge, call PCS Bail Bonds today to get your case assessed as soon as possible. Our licensed and experienced bail bond agents will be able to give you advice specific to your situation, and will work to resolve your case as soon as possible.