Serving all of Tarrant County, Texas
If you’re on probation from another charge or conviction, it’s very likely that driving with a suspended license if a violation of your probation. Driving without a valid license isn’t just a citation like a traffic ticket or civil infraction—it’s a misdemeanor crime. While it’s not always a probation violation to be charged with a crime, if you’re convicted, it could result in a violation of your probation.
Under certain circumstances, yes. If you’ve been previously convicted or previously had your license suspended for a DWI, you could face a class B misdemeanor which carries up to six months in a county jail. However, if you’ve been convicted of driving with a suspended license for the first time, you’ll be facing a class C misdemeanor charge which is punishable by a fine of up to $500.
Criminal fines associated with driving with a suspended license in Texas can range upwards of $2,000. However, this isn’t the only cost you’ll incur when caught driving with a suspended license. It’s likely that the police will have your vehicle towed from wherever you were pulled over, so you can count on hefty towing and storage fees until you’re able to retrieve your car. You’ll also have to pay a reinstatement fee of $100 and SR-22 insurance, which can get pricey. In addition, you’ll be subject to a surcharge of $250 a year for three years once you get your license back.
If your license has been revoked, you may consider appealing the decision of the Department of Public Safety in Texas. You can hire legal counsel to advise you during the hearing process to make sure you’re well informed of your options, and next steps.
Once your period of suspension is completed, your license may be restored or reinstated. You’ll have to file with the Department of Public Safety, as well as supply proof of insurance. A fee will be involved, ranging from $100 to $125, depending on the reason for your suspension. You may also be required to pay an annual surcharge to keep your licence.
If you’ve been taken to jail on charges of driving with a revoked license, you’ll need a bail bond to get out of jail as you await trial. However, if you’ve only been ticketed, chances are you’ll just have to pay the fine and won’t need a bail bond.
If you need to make bail for a suspended/revoked license conviction in Texas, call PCS Bail Bonds immediately. We can process your paperwork and be down to the jail in as little as 30 minutes, and have you out in no time. PCS Bail Bonds is your fastest and safest bet when it comes to posting paid for your driving with a suspended license charge.