Any drug not included in the Texas Health and Safety Code is considered a dangerous drug, such as Valium and Xanax. Possessing less than 28 grams of any such drug is a Class A misdemeanor and can carry a penalty of up to one year in jail. Carrying more than 28 grams turns this offense into a felony with much stiffer penalties.
As mentioned, jail time is one of the punishments for possession of a dangerous drug. Your driver’s license will also be suspended automatically for 180 days with a drug arrest. However, the enforcement through Texas courts differs in each county. Some counties prefer to take an approach where charges are reduced if the accused is open to taking classes or doing community service, while others are much harsher and prefer jail time for drug possessions.
If you or someone you know is accused of any drug related charges in Tarrant County, you need to give PCS Bail Bonds a call. We have over 25 years of experience in handling bail bonds for drug arrests. We can do our best to make sure you or your loved one is home for the duration of court proceedings.