Are you dealing with assault charges in Fort Worth, Texas, or anywhere in Tarrant County? The arrest process is never easy, but you don’t have to go through it all alone. If you have been granted bail, then get in touch with PCS Bail Bonds today to get a speedy release. Our bondsmen know the ins and outs of the justice system, and we know who to contact to get the bail process to move along smoothly.
Our team will keep your information confidential and we are available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. Let’s take a closer look at assault charges, so you understand what you or your loved one will be facing.
What Is Assault?
In Texas, assault can either be a misdemeanor or a felony charge depending on the severity of the crime. Any violence against another person can be characterized as assault, and the charge can come with heavy jail time, particularly if weapons are involved.
Acts of Assault
Any of the following three circumstances is considered an act of assault:
1. Intentionally causing bodily injury to another person.
2. Intentionally threatening someone with bodily injury
3. Intentionally causing physical contact in a way that is offensive or provocative
Misdemeanor Assault and Felony Assault
A Class A misdemeanor, also considered simple assault, can earn violators up to one year in prison and a maximum fine of $4,000. These charges, however, can get elevated to third-degree assault if you are in a relationship with the victim, knew the victim was a public servant or knew the victim was an emergency services worker or a security guard.
Assault with a Weapon/Aggravated Assault
Everything becomes that much worse if an assault takes place with a weapon. Now you’re in the second-degree felony class which means you could face up to 20 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
Common Texas Assault Charges
There are many different types of assault charges. Here are a few that PCS Bail Bonds can provide bail services:
- Assault causing serious bodily injury
- Assault on a public servant
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault family violence
- Domestic assault
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual
- Abandoning or endangering a child
- Deadly conduct
- Consent as a defense to assaultive conduct
- Tampering with consumer product
- Leaving a child in a vehicle
- Harassment by persons in certain correctional facilities; harassment of public servant
- Applicability to certain conduct
How to Find Out If You Qualify for Bail
Within 48 hours of being arrested, you will usually have an arraignment date. This is when the defendant meets the judge and the judge lets them know what they are being convicted of and whether they qualify for bail. If they qualify depends on several factors, such as the defendant’s flight risk, past criminal record, and the severity of the crime. If the judge decides to give you bail, get in touch with a bondsman right away.
Are You Accused of Assault in Fort Worth, Texas?
If you are currently in a position where you have been charged with assault in Tarrant County and find yourself behind bars, contact PCS Bail Bonds to help arrange your bail. You want the opportunity to be with your family during what may be a difficult court process. PCS Bail Bonds has 25 years of experience in bail bonds and can help keep you out of jail for the duration of your trial. Getting bail is fast and affordable when you team up with us. For more information about PCS Bail Bonds, contact us today at PCSDFW@aol.com or call us toll-free at (817) 678-7413.