Texas is a state that is hard on all of its crimes and criminals. Burglary in Texas is no exception. Burglary falls under theft, but its implications are different from simple theft. The precise charge of burglary in Texas is as follows:
“Entering a habitation, a building, or any part of a building not open to the public with the intent to commit a felony, a theft, or an assault, remaining concealed in a building or habitation with the intent to commit a felony, a theft, or an assault, or entering a building or habitation and committing or attempting to commit a felony, theft, or an assault.”
A burglary occurs any time someone has entered, broken into, or forcefully entered a home, car, or any type of building with the intent to commit a felony, theft, or assault inside. The two main elements of burglary are breaking and entering, and the theft or assault that occurs inside.
Like many charges in Texas, the punishment depends on the severity of the crime. For example, the burglary of a building that isn’t a habitation is a state jail felony while the burglary of a home or habitation is classified as a second-degree felony; the burglary of a vehicle is a class A misdemeanor. Depending on the circumstances of the crime, the severity, and the previous record of the defendant, punishments can include but are not limited to: jail or prison sentences in surplus of 20 years, fines from less than $1,000 to over $100,000, restitution, or probation.
If you or your loved one is charged with burglary in Texas and in need of bail, contact PCS Bail Bonds right away. We have over 25 years of bail bond experience and can help you post bail quickly. We know the court system well and can help you through the bail bond process.