Call PCS Bail Bonds Now!
Serving all of Tarrant County, Texas image817-335-1655
10%Lower Bond
Fees
All Jails in Tarrant County
image_print

Being charged with a first offense DWI in Texas can be stressful and scary, especially if this is your first time encountering law enforcement. If this is your first arrest, you’ll likely be concerned with the punishment or penalty for first offense DWI in Texas, as well as the long-term consequences to your career and records. Understanding the potential impact of such a conviction can help you post bail as soon as possible and make all the difference in your case. Here’s what you need to know to post bail for DWI in Texas.

Facts to Know about DWI in Texas

To be charged with a DWI, or “Driving While Impaired,” you need to be legally intoxicated. This means that you do not have the normal use of mental or physical faculties because you’ve consumed alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, or a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance that causes impairment. Slurred speech, swerving while driving, or simply acting unusual are symptoms that may cause a law enforcement officer to pull you over and arrest you. A first offense DWI is a class B misdemeanor according to Texas Penal Code Section 49.04.

Penalties for First Offense DWI in Texas

If you are an adult and have been convicted of your first DWI offense in Texas with under a 0.15 blood-alcohol level, your penalties may include the following:

  • Between three and 180 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days to one year
  • Annual surcharge fee of $1,000 or three years to retain your license

For adults arrested with a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more, a first DWI offense (Class A misdemeanor, in this case) may include the following penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • A fine up to $4,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year
  • Annual surcharge fee of $2,000 for three years if blood-alcohol level is 0.16 or more
  • You may need to have an ignition interlock device installed for one year following your period of license suspension

Get Someone Out of Jail for DWI Charges in Texas

Can a DWI be dismissed in Texas? Can you post bail for a DWI charge? All these questions and more can be answered by an experienced bail bondsman, who should be the first person you call when you are arrested.

PCS Bail Bonds can help you if you need to post bail for a DWI charge. We provide 24-hour bail bonds for a variety of charges including theft, drug possession, embezzlement, assault, and more. Our experienced agents can help you obtain a bond and can get the job done quickly so you spend a little time in jail as possible.

We are the right team for you to work with because we have professional memberships in several renowned associations including the Professional Bondsmen of Texas, Tarrant County Bar Association, and Professional Bondsmen of Tarrant County.

We also post affordable bail bonds in Fort Worth, Texas, and other municipalities in Tarrant County to help clients with financial challenges. We process our clients’ requests quickly and efficiently. Our bond agents are always on call and we can be down to the jail in as little as 30 minutes.

Contact us now by phone at 817-335-1655, at our e-mail, visit in-person, or fill out our bail bond request form. You can be confident that you’re working with experts who are dedicated to helping you.

Need to Bail Someone Out of Jail Immediately?Call Us Now at 817-335-1655(We Serve All of Tarrant County, Texas)