PCS Bail Bonds is the perfect choice for those dealing with a hit-and-run arrest. Our knowledgeable staff is experienced in helping those facing these types of charges, providing a compassionate and understanding approach to helping you through this difficult time. We understand that being arrested for a hit-and-run can be a frightening experience and will work with you to ensure that your rights and freedoms are respected throughout the entire process.
What Is Considered a Hit-and-Run in Texas?
A hit-and-run in Texas refers to when someone does not stop after hitting another vehicle, resulting in damage, death, or some kind of injury. Fleeing the scene can sometimes be considered a more serious crime than the actual accident. Hit-and-run offenses can vary in their degree of charges. Depending on damage or injury, a hit-and-run can be a misdemeanor or can extend up to a felony charge.
What Are the Penalties for Hit-and-Run Charges in Texas?
Depending on the level of seriousness concerning the initial offense, hit-and-run charges can vary greatly. Usually, you will be given the opportunity to post bail regardless of the seriousness of the hit-and-run. However, exceptions to this can exist. PCS Bail Bonds will be here to help!
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident
The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Texas can vary depending on the damage that the driver inflicted. Punishments are harsher if you cause serious injury or death to the other driver and flee the scene, rather than if you simply cause property damage. Either way, you can be penalized in a court of law when you fail to remain at the scene of an accident.
Failure to Stop and Render Aid
When involved in a motor vehicle accident, you are required by law to immediately stop and call for help if the other person involved requires aid. Failure to stop and render aid at the scene of an accident resulting in death is a second-degree felony that’s punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If you caused serious bodily injury and fail to render aid, you could be charged with a third-degree felony, serve up to 10 years in prison, and face charges as much as $10,000. Failure to stop and render aid in a car accident where no injury was caused is punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Accident Resulting in Property Damage
Even if the other driver hasn’t been injured, you’re still required to stop and exchange information such as identification and registration for insurance purposes. Drivers are advised to pull off the roadway to a safe location if possible. Failure to remain at the scene to exchange information can get you a Class C misdemeanor if the total damage to the other vehicle amounts to $200 or less—this can be upgraded to a Class B misdemeanor if the damaged exceeds $200.
Bail Bond for Hit-and-Run in Texas
PCS Bail Bonds has helped countless Tarrant County residents secure bail for hit-and-run charges. We have over 25 years of experience and can help you to post bond quickly. PCS Bail Bonds is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week should you ever need to contact us to post bail for a hit-and-run or for any other charges.
For more information about PCS Bail Bonds, contact us today at PCSDFW@aol.com or call us toll free at (888) 335-1655.