If you drive, chances are you or someone you know has received a speeding ticket at least once before. Thousands of people are given speeding tickets in Texas each year, and most do not know what to do about it. There are many options available to you, especially if this is your first time with a speeding ticket in Texas. If you’re wondering what your options are, here’s what you need to know about the speeding ticket penalties and the difference between reckless driving vs. a speeding ticket.
According to Texas laws for speeding, drivers are prohibited from driving at speeds more than is reasonable and prudent under the existing circumstances. In other words, drivers must only drive at safe speeds. On a bright, sunny day, a speed of 55 miles per hour (mph) might be appropriate on the highway; but on dark nights if the roads are icy or slippery, this speed could be dangerous and violate the basic speeding law.
Texas has prima facie speed limits, which means they should be accepted as a rule until proved otherwise. Exceeding these limits doesn’t mean you are automatically guilty, as long as you can prove in court that you were driving at a safe speed. If you can do so, the judge or jury will find you not guilty. These are the prima facie speed limits in Texas:
Reckless driving is when a driver shows disregard for the safety of other drivers, pedestrians, property, or passengers while driving. This includes weaving in and out of traffic, running red lights, and speeding. This differs from a regular speeding ticket because it is much more serious. Speeding is a traffic infraction, while reckless driving is considered a class B misdemeanor. This carries jail time of up to 6 months! A criminal charge that leads to a guilty conviction is permanent on your record, while speeding tickets will be removed from the driving record after a few years.
To break it down further, here are some examples that are considered reckless driving:
If you are unable to prove that you were driving at a safe speed, and are convicted, you will need to pay a fine as well as court costs. These costs depend on location, but typically range between $130 to $300 depending on how fast you were driving over the speed limit. In most cases, a speeding violation will add a minimum of two or three points to your driving record.
If your speeding led to a reckless driving conviction, you could face up to 30 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $200. You could also receive up to six points on your driving record. Accumulating too many of these points within three years can lead to surcharges that you must pay.
An attorney can help you if you need to get bail for speeding tickets in Texas. Their role is to shed any reasonable doubt on the charges against you in efforts to reduce or dismiss your penalty for improper driving or speeding. They can achieve this by presenting evidence that will aid your case and show reasonable doubt in the police officer’s testimony.
They will also ask you do things outside of court that may show that your driving did not rise to the level of concern claimed by the police officer. They can do this by getting your speedometer calibrated, or ask a witness to testify as to how fast you were actually driving.
It’s common for drivers to disregard traffic tickets and not take them seriously, but there are many situations where violations can lead to your arrest. If you have been arrested for a speeding violation, contacting a bail bondsman as quickly as possible is your best solution to get out of jail and hopefully have your penalty reduced or dismissed completely. Not every bail bondsman has the experience or dedication to resolve your case effectively and quickly, so making the right decision for this step is imperative.
When you’re ready, give PCS Bail Bonds a call. We can help you if you need to post bail, or need advice about your arrest situation. We provide 24-hour bail bonds for all kinds of charges including theft, drug possession, embezzlement, traffic violations, assault, and more. If you’re concerned about your speeding ticket bail amount, we offer 10% lower bond fees.
We have professional memberships in several renowned associations including the Professional Bondsmen of Texas, Tarrant County Bar Association, and Professional Bondsmen of Tarrant County. We serve clients in Fort Worth, Texas, and other municipalities in Tarrant County. We process our clients’ requests quickly and efficiently. Our bond agents are always on call and we can be down to the jail in under 30 minutes.
Contact us now by phone at 817-335-1655, at our e-mail, visit in-person, or fill out our bail bond request form. You can be confident that you’re working with experts who are dedicated to helping you.