The term “assault” in Texas law can fall under many categories. In some instances, there may not even have to be violent contact for a charge of assault to be laid. Bail for assault charges in Texas is certainly possible. From simple assault all the way to felony assault, it’s important to know the degrees of assault when dealing with the courts.
PCS Bail Bonds has been consistently dealing with the Texas court system for over 25 years. We’re known to have a sound working relationship with attorneys and other public servants within the system. Our knowledge of how to manage bail for assault charges is unquestionable. We’ve served countless defendants in posting their bail.
There are so many types of assault charges in Texas that it can be difficult to keep up. In this article, we provide a simple overview of assault charges and the penalties for the different degrees of assault.
What Is Considered Simple Assault in Texas?
Even with simple assault in Texas, there are varying degrees. And the penalties for simple assault in Texas depend on the degree. There is a form of simple assault that only involves a threat or touching. Under Texas law, this is classified as a Class C misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $500. That changes if the threat made was against an elderly person. In that instance, the assault gets elevated to a Class A misdemeanor.
A simple assault becomes a third-degree felony when:
- The act is committed against a government official or public servant
- The act is committed against an emergency service worker or security guard
- The act is committed against someone with whom you have a domestic relationship or a family member, and you have a previous history of domestic violence or assault
What Is Considered Aggravated Assault in Texas
If there is a weapon involved or if a serious injury occurs in an assault, then it is considered aggravated assault in Texas.
Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon
If the offender uses a deadly weapon when committing the assault, this is when this charge comes into play. What qualifies as a deadly weapon can vary. Obvious options are a gun or a large knife. These objects are known to cause severe bodily harm and so are immediately identified as deadly weapons.
Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon by Threat
There are other objects when used in the commission of an assault that can be considered deadly weapons. Bricks, stones, brass knuckles, and lead pipes can be considered deadly weapons if they are used in an assault to cause bodily harm. In some cases, a boot can be considered a deadly weapon if the offender repeatedly kicks the victim and causes bodily harm. Even making the threat of beating someone up with an object like a baseball bat can actually be considered aggravated assault with a deadly weapon.
Is Aggravated Assault Considered a Felony in Texas?
The short answer is yes. Aggravated assault is usually considered a second-degree felony, but there does have to be serious injury to the victim or the use of a deadly weapon.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Texas
The punishment for aggravated assault is anywhere from two to 20 years in prison with a fine of up to $10,000. These penalties increase in severity if you commit the aggravated assault against an emergency services worker, public servant, security guard, police officer, witness, informant, etc.
Bail for Assault Charges in Texas
There are a number of different types of assault in Texas. We’ve covered some such as assault by threat in Texas law, simple assault, and aggravated assault, including aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. There are other assault charges for which PCS Bail Bonds can provide bail services. Those include:
- Assault causing serious bodily injury
- Assault on a public servant
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Assault family violence
- Domestic assault
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual
- Abandoning or endangering a child
- Deadly conduct
- Consent as defense to assaultive conduct
- Tampering with a consumer product
- Leaving a child in a vehicle
- Harassment by persons in certain correctional facilities; harassment of a public servant
PCS Bail Bonds has been proudly serving the community in Tarrant County, Texas for close to 30 years. Our courtroom experience allows us to help our clients post bail. But even more than that, we help families understand the bail process, which often comes with many terms and conditions that must be met.
If you have been arrested for any kind of assault and are in need of bail, contact us right away. If your loved one is in the same position, you can contact us on their behalf to inquire about bail. PCS Bail Bonds is available 24/7 to deal with any bail inquiries. We act promptly to get you or your loved one bail so they can be back at home while you deal with the court case.
Latest posts by Paul Schuder (see all)
- Forfeited Bail Bonds In Texas: Everything You Need to Know - January 24, 2018
- How Can I Get a Bail Bond with No Collateral? - December 20, 2017
- How to Get Bail Bonds for your Loved Ones during Christmas - December 13, 2017