Getting a traffic ticket in Texas is an aggravating experience. It is probably one of the most disputed charges, along with being fairly confusing. Though traffic offenses are by and large smaller tickets, they still leave drivers questioning what exactly comes next. Questions of how many points they will lose, or what happens to their insurance; these are legitimate concerns when a traffic ticket is issued.
Reasons for Issuing a Traffic Ticket in Texas
There are multiple reasons someone can be issued a traffic ticket while operating a vehicle in Texas. Some of the more common traffic violations include the following:
- Using a cell phone
- Running a red light
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- Seatbelts and car seats
- Passing an authorized emergency vehicle
- Operation of a motor vehicle in violation of motor vehicle liability insurance requirements.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties in Texas
What’s important to note about getting a traffic ticket in Texas is that the fines vary according to county. When or if you are issued a ticket, the amount will be right on the ticket. You can also contact the local county court if you are unsure about how much your ticket will cost.
It’s also important to remember that there are circumstances in which you may have to pay additional surcharges on top of the original ticket amount. This will depend on your previous driving record and points.
Each traffic violation in Texas carries with it either two or three points, with the points being added to your record and staying on it for three years. You can expect to gain two points for any in- or out-of-state traffic conviction. For any in or out of state traffic violation involving a crash, you can expect to gain 3 points.
Once you get up to six points, you will have to pay a yearly surcharge until those points are reduced under six. The surcharge will be $100 for six points and an additional $25 for every point after that. You can also expect your insurance rates to go up with each violation, depending on the severity and the frequency.
Some more serious violations which require a higher fine includes:
- First offense DWI: $1,000
- DWI with blood alcohol level 0.16 or higher: $2,000
- Driving without insurance: $250
- Driving with an invalid license: $250
Bail Bond Service for Traffic Tickets Available 24/7 in Tarrant County
Though most people do not take traffic tickets seriously, there are many instances in which violations can lead to an arrest. For those situations, PCS Bail Bonds is prepared to help those arrested post bail once bail is issued. We are available around the clock, 24/7, so feel free to contact us at any time should you find yourself in need of bail from a traffic ticket in Texas.