What Is a Third-Degree Felony in Texas?
The criminal offenses in Texas are weighted by range. In Texas, there are first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree felonies. There is also another grouping called State Jail felony. Third-degree felonies are among the least serious of felonies but are still felonies all the same. That means that the crime is considerable but does not involving the death of another person.
Third-Degree Felony Punishment Range in Texas
The standard punishment for a third-degree felony can range depending on the offense. Someone convicted of a third-degree felony can serve anywhere from two up to 10 years in jail. There is also a fine of up to $10,000. Prisoners doing time for a third-degree felony are eligible for parole after a quarter of the time is served. This is conditional on the fact that no weapon was involved along with other variables.
Examples of Third-Degree Felonies
- Examples of third-degree felonies include the following:
- Aggravated perjury
- Bail jumping of a felony arrest
- Deadly conduct with a firearm
- Escape from felony custody
- Indecent exposure to a child
- Intoxication assault
- Possession of a firearm by a felon
- DWI (third offense)
- Tampering with evidence
- Violation of protective order (third offense)
Third-Degree Felony Bail Bonds
It is possible to be eligible for bail on a third-degree offense. Once the judge issues your bail amount, you need to contact PCS Bail Bonds right away. We are a licensed and professional bail bonds agency and have been operating in the Tarrant County community for over 25 years.
We understand how the court systems work and can have you out of jail quickly. We know how traumatizing being arrested can be. We see it on a regular basis. So, let PCS Bail Bonds be the ones to guide you through the bail bond process and get your loved one back home for the duration of the trial.