What Is a DWI in Texas?
Texas considers driving while intoxicated (DWI) to be an individual operating a motor vehicle while their blood alcohol level is .08 or higher. It also includes being impaired by drugs.
What Are Penalties for DWI in Texas?
The first DWI offense is a misdemeanor charge. The accused can face anywhere from three to 80 days in jail and pay a fine up to $2,000. But if you add certain conditions to a DWI, the consequences change significantly.
- DWI with a minor is a felony and can carry a jail term of up to two years and a $10,000 fine.
- DWI assault, meaning you seriously harm someone while driving under the influence, is also a felony and can result in a jail term of up to 10 years.
- DWI manslaughter carries a 20-year sentence.
Do You Have to Post Bail for DWI?
Yes, you can post bail for a DWI as long as it is ordered by the judge. In that instance, PCS Bail Bonds is your best bet for posting bail. We are available 24/7 to respond to your bail request and will be ready to help you quickly get out of jail. With over 25 years of experience, you can trust PCS Bail Bonds to deliver the best bail bond service in Tarrant County.