Possession of Marijuana in Texas
Despite some states legalizing marijuana, possession of marijuana in the State of Texas is still a misdemeanor at the very least. There has been an effort to handle simple possessions in a different manner outside of prison, but if a person is caught with large amounts of the drug with intent to sell, then marijuana charges suddenly become very serious.
Possession of marijuana can mean physical possession or any part of the growing process. Having seeds present on your property, whether they are growing or not, still constitutes possession. Having a rolled up joint is also still possession.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas
Two ounces of marijuana or less is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or a $2,000 fine. The accused can face up to a year in jail for anything between two and four ounces. Four ounces to five pounds can see the accused face up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Five to 50 pounds can get someone up to 10 years, 50 pounds to 2,000 pounds will cost the accused up to 20 years in prison. Anything over 2,000 pounds can put someone in jail for up to 99 years with a fine of $50,000.
Bail for Marijuana Possession in Tarrant County, Texas
Marijuana possession is still a serious charge in Tarrant County, Texas. If convicted, we’ve shown that the consequences can be severe. However, it’s still possible to get bail for marijuana charges. Once bail is granted, it’s important you contact PCS Bail Bonds right away to help expedite the process.
You don’t want to face charges and go to court while you’re in jail. PCS Bail Bonds is here to make the bail process simple. We know how overwhelming the court process can be, which is why we use our years of experience to help you get through it.