Methamphetamine Possession in Texas
Methamphetamine is a powerful and debilitating drug. It is a serious problem in the State of Texas. What makes it even more problematic is the fact that meth can be made right in someone’s kitchen. It only takes a combination of ingredients that can be bought over the counter at regular drug stores.
Because of the people who live with a meth addiction around Texas and the dangers the drug presents, law officials and the court systems are particularly harsh when it comes to charges. Know that if you are charged with possession of methamphetamine, it is treated as an extremely serious crime.
Charges and Penalties for Methamphetamine Possession
Texas classifies its drugs into four penalty groups. Possession of methamphetamine falls into group one, meaning it is at the top of the list. Possessing just under a gram of meth is a state jail felony, which carries a prison term of 180 days up to two years. Possessing between one to four grams of meth is a third-degree felony punishable by two to 10 years behind bars.
Any possession of methamphetamine between four and 200 grams is considered a second-degree felony and offenders can face up to 20 years in prison. Anything beyond 200 grams is a first-degree felony and offenders are looking at anywhere from five to 99 years in prison depending on varying circumstances. Charges are similar if the accused is charged with possession with intent to distribute.
Arrested for Meth Possession in Tarrant County? Call PCS Bail Bonds
If you are arrested for possession of meth anywhere in Tarrant County, it’s important you call PCS Bail Bonds. Once it has been determined that you will receive bail, PCS Bail Bonds can help you through the bail bond process.
We have over 25 years of experience with the courts, so we understand what steps need to be taken so your bail can be secured quickly. We’re also available 24/7 for any questions or to respond to any request for bail.