What Is a Robbery Charge in Texas?
Robbery charges in Texas entail a theft with an added element of violence. For this reason, robbery charges are treated more seriously than typical theft charges are. The step above robbery is aggravated robbery, which includes causing serious bodily injury to another using or exhibiting a deadly weapon or threatening injury or death to a person 65 years and older. While aggravated robbery is typically treated more seriously than robbery charges, they both can result in felony charges.
What Is the Penalty for a Robbery in Texas?
The penalty for robbery, like many crimes, can vary depending on the severity. Things that will be factored into the sentence include but are not limited to: the value of the property taken, the use of a weapon and the type of weapon used, whether you had an accomplice, and whether the victim was harmed during the robbery. Aggravated robbery is a first-degree felony and carries up to 99 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Punishments can include a combination of imprisonment, probation, fines, court-approved counseling, or community service. Penalties for robbery are similar to those for extortion and blackmail. The statute of limitations on robbery will run out after a total of five years, although certain state laws may exist that would lead to charges with a longer statute of limitations.
Bail for Robbery Charges in Texas
PCS Bail Bonds has provided numerous bail bonds in the past for those charged with robbery in Texas and can do the same for you. Our bail bond agents have years of experience with the local court system and can get your paperwork processed faster than ever to have you released from jail in no time. With bail bondsmen on call 24 hours a day, seven days a week, you’ll never have to worry about being left in a difficult situation like this alone. Allow us to provide a bail bond for your robbery charge so that you can reclaim your freedom. Contact PCS Bail Bonds today to learn more about how we can help you.