Texas Sex Offenses
To give you the exact meaning of a sex crime, we will turn to the legal definition of a sexual assault as defined by Texas state law. It states that a sexual offense has been committed if someone intentionally “causes the penetration of the anus or female sexual organ of another person by any means, without that person’s consent; causes the penetration of the mouth of another person by the sexual organ of the actor, without that person’s consent.”
This same definition applies to men and children, as well.
Types of Sex Crimes in Texas
- Sexual Assault: This includes rape and all other unwanted sexual contact and is not limited to intercourse.
- Aggravated Assault: Using violence, force, weapons, or uttering death threats to commit a sex crime.
- Sexting Offenses: Sending or receiving sexually explicit images is illegal in the State of Texas. This includes images of children.
- Offenses Involving Children or Protected Individuals: Any of the sexual laws are worsened when dealing with children or protected individuals.
- Prostitution: Knowingly engaging in sexual conduct for money is considered prostitution in Texas.
Penalties for Sex Offenders in Texas
Depending on the sex offense charge you’re facing, your punishment will vary. Sexual assault, child pornography, child molestation, or online solicitation of a minor can all carry varying penalties. For example, in cases of child molestation or indecency with a child, you could face second-degree charges and up to 20 years in prison. For most sex offender charges in Texas, second-degree charges are laid. However, first-degree charges are more suitable, in these cases, and defendants are subject to five to 99 years in a state prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Most cases in which first-degree charges are laid are aggravated sexual assault. If the victim is younger than 14 and a deadly weapon was used or exhibited, the prison sentence will likely be around 25 years. Other factors also come in to play, such as if the victim was seriously hurt and whether the defendant attempted to kill the victim.
Sex offenders may also be required to register with local law enforcement agencies to be put on a sex offender registry. Defendants would need to hand over information, such as: name, date of birth, sex, race, home address, a complete set of fingerprints, employment information, and more to the authorities. Adult sex offenders are typically required to be on a registry for life, or 10 years after discharged from state supervision. Juvenile offenders are only required to register until the tenth anniversary of the date on which they were convicted or completed their sentence.
Bail for Sex Crimes in Texas
Bail is possible for sex crimes under Texas law. If you are eligible for bail, PCS Bail Bonds can work through the process quickly to get you out of jail. We are available 24/7 to answer any questions or to get started on bailing you or your loved one out of jail. Call us toll-free at 888-335-1655.