What Is a Suspended License in Texas?
It is possible to be charged if you are pulled over and your driver’s license shows up as being suspended. The suspension can happen for a number of reasons, and often perpetrators don’t know their license is suspended. However, whether you are aware of the suspension or not, it is still illegal and you will still be charged.
What Are Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License?
While seeing those red and blue lights flashing behind you can be a frightening experience to begin with, it’s even more stressful seeing them while driving with a suspended license. A routine traffic stop can become a little more serious in these situations. It’s likely that you’ve already had a run-in with the law if your license has been suspended and are about to have another one if you’ve been pulled over again. Your license may have been suspended as a result of a DWI, a large number of traffic tickets or driving violations, failure to pay child support, or driving without insurance. Whatever the reason may be, when your license is suspended, it’s effective immediately and enforced for the specified sentence.
When you’ve been caught driving with a suspended license, the punishment can vary. A first-time offense of driving with a suspended license is classified as a class C misdemeanor charge; it is punishable by up to a $500.00 fine and a possible extension of the suspension period. If you’ve been caught once before, the charge will be upgraded to a class B misdemeanor and could carry up to 180 days in jail, up to a $2,000 fine, and a possible extension of the suspension period. If you were driving with a suspended license and caused an accident that resulted in serious injury or death, you could be facing a class A misdemeanor charge. This means you could spend up to one year in a county jail, pay a fine as much as $4,000, as well as have an extended suspension period.
What Causes a Driver’s License Suspension in Texas?
The following are reasons your license can be suspended in Texas:
- Using a fake ID
- Committing some kind of offense that includes alcohol
- The court may have determined you are not fit to drive a vehicle
- You have been convicted of racing
Bail for Driving with a Suspended/Revoked License in Texas
PCS Bail Bonds brings 26 years of experience in handling bail bonds. In the instance you are arrested for driving with a suspended license, call PCS and we’ll help you get out on bail.