Can You Carry a Gun/Weapon in Texas?
The state of Texas does allow for individuals to lawfully carry a firearm. However, there were new rules enacted that took effect at the beginning of 2016 concerning open carry that should be considered. A summary of those regulations can be found by clicking here.
What is the Charge for Possession of a Dangerous Weapon in Texas?
The charge for possession of a dangerous weapon or unlawful use or possession of a firearm can vary. Prohibited weapons include switchblade knives and machine guns.
The penalty for carrying any of these can be up to one year in prison, a fine of $4,000, and possible community service. These penalties become dramatically increased if the weapon is used in the act of a crime or, in the case of a firearm, if the gun is fired in public for any reason besides protecting yourself or a patron.
Weapons that are Illegal to Possess in Texas
We’ve mentioned two weapons that are illegal to carry in the state of Texas. Other illegal weapons include the following:
- Brass knuckles
- Rifles with barrels less than 16 inches long
- Shotguns with barrels sawed off to less than 18 inches long
- If either a shotgun or rifle is altered in any way to where the
- weapon is less than 26 inches long
- Zip guns, which are altered handguns
Fort Worth Weapons Charges Bail Bondsman Texas
Unlawfully carrying a weapon can be a serious offense and is handled as such by the Texas courts. Penalties can be stiff, but everyone is still expected to be treated fairly, which means bail is typically an option.
PCS Bail Bonds has over 25 years of experience in managing bail bonds for weapons offenses. If a loved one has been arrested and charged with a weapons offense and you want to know if bail is possible, give us a call at 817-335-1655. We are available 24/7 to answer all of your questions the best we can.