What is a Class A Misdemeanor in Texas?
Misdemeanors are categorized into the severity of the charge. Class A misdemeanors are the most serious of any misdemeanor classification, and the severity drops with each letter accordingly. Charges such as pimping fall under this level of misdemeanor, as does carrying a handgun without a permit.
Penalties for a Class A Misdemeanor in Texas
Penalties for Class A misdemeanors include the following:
- Fines ranging from $500 to $4000
- One year of jail time
- Community service or some form of rehabilitation
Texas Class A Misdemeanor Examples
Each state may categorize what it considers a misdemeanor differently. In Texas, here are some offenses that fall under the Class A designation:
- DWI (second offense)
- Assault with bodily injury
- Burglary of a vehicle or vending machine
- Possession of two to four ounces of marijuana
- Unlawful carrying of a weapon
- Gambling promotion
- Violation of protective orders
- Cruelty to animals
- Public lewdness
- Resisting arrest
- Unlawful restraint
- Misdemeanor Domestic Violence
- Possession of a controlled substance
- Property theft over $1,000
Bail for a Class A Misdemeanor
PCS Bail Bonds helps provide bail to those charged with a Class A Misdemeanor. In many instances, bail is usually an option and with PCS Bail Bonds’ assistance, the bond process becomes much simpler, more affordable, and efficient.
PCS can draw from our 25 years of experience in the bail bond industry. We have been a staple within the Fort Worth community the entire time and know the ins and outs of the court system and those involved. Trust us to help you get bail.