Tarrant County Bail Bond Specialists

What is a DWI in Texas?

Texas law states clearly that driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a criminal offense and one that can potentially have costly repercussions. Being intoxicated is defined by either drugs or alcohol. A blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher will get you arrested, but there are instances when you may still get arrested even though you are beneath that state-wide limit.

If your blood alcohol level is not determined, however, you are deemed not to have what an officer would consider normal use of your body or mental functions, you may still be considered drunk and subsequently arrested.

Texas DWI Penalties

As mentioned, driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in Texas. Though jail time is a possibility depending on several factors in addition to your being intoxicated, the most common penalty for DWI is probation.

Probation is a suspended sentence given at the court’s leniency. What probation essentially means is that you are supposed to be in jail, but the court probates that sentence for however many days they determine acceptable, and the defendant avoids sitting in a cell for the duration of the court proceedings.

All of this depends on the specifics of each case. For example:

First Offense: First-time offenders usually get away with a $2,000 fine and a suspended license from anywhere between three months to a full year.

Second Offense: The fine bumps up to $4,000 and potential jail time increases with sentences from anywhere between one month to 365 days.

Third Offense: Fines and jail time also increase with a third offense, jumping to a $10,000 maximum and between two to 10 years behind bars.

Intoxication Assault: This is when injury is caused by a result of you being intoxicated. Even if probation is the result of the court proceedings, a mandatory 30 days must be spent in jail. The maximum jail time for this offense is 10 years. With manslaughter, the potential jail time escalates to 20 years.

Let Us Handle Your Drunk Driving Case

We don’t always make the best of choices. Driving while intoxicated is wrong, and we know that. Yet this is still a huge problem across the state of Texas and unfortunately when people disregard the law, accidents happen.

PCS Bail Bonds can help. If you or your loved one needs bail for committing one of these drunk driving offenses, contact PCS Bail Bonds. We have 25 years of experience in dealing with the courts and have forged some meaningful relationships along the way. We are a fixture in the Fort Worth community.

For more information about PCS Bail Bonds, contact us today at PCSDFW@aol.com or call us toll free at (888) 335-1655.

Get A Free Consultation

What Our Clients Say

Fast & Affordable Bail in Fort Worth and All of Tarrant County.